Parliament approves creation of 15 new cities.

Effective from midnight tonight, Arua, Gulu, FortPortal, Jinja, Masaka, Mbale and Mbarara shall begin operating as cities just like Kampala.

Parliament on the 28th of April 2020 voted for the creation of 15 new cities in the country.

The 15 new cities which were to be created over a period four years in phases are Jinja, Mbarara, Fort Portal, Masaka, Mbale, Arua, Gulu, Hoima, Lira ,Soroti, Entebbe, Moroto, Nakasongola, Kabale and Wakiso.

With a majority of 312 votes out of 313, MPs voted for the Motion for resolution of Parliament on alteration of boundaries under Art 179(1) A of the Constitution and declaration of the 15 new cities under Section 7(2a) of the Local Gov’t Act.

The first phase which include Arua, Gulu, FortPortal, Jinja, Masaka, Mbale and Mbarara shall begin operations tomorrow 1st July 2020
with others coming in the following respective dates; July 1, 2021-Hoima City, July 1, 2022
Entebbe and Lira Cities, July 1, 2023
Moroto, Nakasongola, Soroti, Kabale and Wakiso Cities

According to Mr Niwagaba, the commissioner in-charge of Urban Planning, Arua, Mbarara, Gulu and Mbale will be regional cities while others will be strategic cities; Fort Portal (tourism), Jinja (industrial), Lira (industrial) and Hoima (oil).

Frank Fremer is a seasoned journalist, blogger and political analyst for over a decade in Uganda

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles