Buddu Eliminates Bulemeezi To book Masaza Cup Final

Masaza Cup Semi-Final Results

Thursday, January 21

Buddu 1-0 Bulemeezi

Busiro 0(4)-0(5) Gomba

Buddu eliminated  Bulemeezi to book a place in the 2020 Masaza Cup final.

In what will be a repeat of the 2016 final of the Masaza Cup tournament, Buddu will face Gomba four years later at the last hurdle stage.

Titus Ssematimba scored the only goal of the game in the last semifinal encounter at FUFA Technical Centre in Njeru.

Ssematimba raced onto Marvin Kavuma looped pass, and after a cool finish, he fired in with a ferocious shot in the fourth minute of the game.

Bulemeezi tried to stage a comeback but couldn’t squeeze an effort past Buddu goalkeeper Yawe Farouk Ssebanja.

They will feel unlucky not to have been awarded a penalty when Buddu defender appeared to have blocked John Ben Nakibinge shot with his hand.

Bulemeezi also threatened through freekicks – Douglas Kizza Lule and Travis Mutyaba both came close from their respective set pieces.

Muzanyi Hakiramu could have levelled matters for Bulemeezi but he missed with just a keeper to beat.

Ssesazi Suleiman headed over from Mutyaba’s delivery as Bulemeezi kept pushing for an equaliser but Buddu held on for win.

The record still remains – No team has ever defended the Masaza cup title.

Read Also:Gomba Edges Out Busiro To Reach Masaza Cup Final

How the teams lined up:


Mugoye Haman(GK), Musisi henry Muyomba, Kizza Douglas Lule, Ssemwogerere Rashid, Ssesazi Sulaiman, Masembe Dirisa, Ssebyonda Rodgers, Kakaire Thomas, Muzanyi Hakiramu, Nakibinge JohnBen, Eragu Gabriel.

Substitutes – Banalya Ibra, Kafumbe Masuudi, Kayondo Ismail, Mutyaba Travis, Ssebyonda Rodgers.


Yawe Farouk(GK), Namansa Edward, Muwawu Stephen, Kizza Angello, Ssengendo Sharif, Kavuma Marvin, Nsamba Fahad, Semugera Miisi Diego, Sematimba Titus, Odongo Gideon, Sebuufu Frank.

Substitutes – Kibuule Obbon, Ssekayi Farouk, Nsimbe Jibril, Mawejje Jovan, Mwesigwa Emmanuel.

Masaza Cup championship does not accommodate players who have played for the Uganda Premier League, FUFA Big League as well as national teams (U-21, U-20, U-23 and the Uganda Cranes).

Gomba are the record champions with four titles to their name in 2004, 2009, 2013 and   2017.

The 2016 champions will be targeting for their second trophy against four-time winners Gomba.

The final, initially scheduled to be played on January 23, has been postponed by the Masaza local organizing committee.

Masaza Cup Cast of All Winners:

  • 2019 –Bulemeezi
  • 2018– Singo
  • 2017– Gomba
  • 2016– Buddu
  • 2015 – Singo
  • 2014 – Gomba
  • 2013– Mawokota
  • 2012 – Bulemeezi
  • 2011 – Buluri
  • 2010 – Not Held
  • 2009 – Gomba
  • 2008 – Kyadondo
  • 2007 – Mawokota
  • 2006 – Kooki
  • 2005 – Mawokota
  • 2004 – Gomba


Frank Fremer is a seasoned journalist, blogger and political analyst for over a decade in Uganda

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Articles