Bulemeezi Vs Buddu In Masaza Cup Semi-Final

Thursday, January 21
Busiro Vs Gomba – 12pm
Bulemezi Vs Buddo – 3pm

At FUFA Technical Centre, Njeru.

It should be noted that Bulemeezi are the defending champions of the prestigious tournament, they edged Busiro 1-0 thanks to an Emmanuel Loki goal at Mandela National Stadium in Namboole in 2019.

No team has defended the Masaza cup championship since 2004 but Bulemeezi look destined to rewrite the history books according to experts who have followed this tournament over the years.
Masaza Cup defending champions Bulemeezi and traditional giants Buddu square up in the second of the two semi-final matches lined up on Thursday, January 21, 2021.

Coming to this match, both sides are unbeaten with impressive displays and performances throughout the group stages and the respective quarter final clashes.

Bulemeezi coach Simon Peter Mugerwa say,“We have come from far. Every game means a lot for us. We need to apply maturity in the contest against Buddu because we target that final slot, as we look forward a successful title defence” Mugerwa disclosed.

John Ben Nakibinge, Hakiramu Muzanyi, Gabriel Eragu, Thomas Kakaire are some of the important players for Bulemeezi.

On the other hand, Buddu’s German trained coach Michael Skills  Lukyamuzi will ass “We are determined to qualify for the finals and lift the trophy. Buddu is not bothered at all about Bulemeezi being the defending champions” Lukyamuzi stated.

Read Also:Busiro Vs Gomba in Masaza Cup Semi-Final

Buddu welcomes back towering striker Frank Sebuufu who had limped out of the last group game against Gomba with a twisted knee.

Other players of substance will be hardworking midfielder Fahad Nsamba, Angello Kizza, captain and first choice goalkeeper Farouk Yawe Ssebanja, Miisi Diego Semugera, Titus Ssematimba, Gideon Odongo, Marvin Kavuma, Sharif “Diao” Ssengendo, as well as the youngsters Jovan Mawejje and Farouk Ssekayi among others.

Gomba are the record champions of the tournament with 4 titles to their name, followed by Mawokota who have won it 3 times.

The winner between Busiro and Gomba will face the winner between Buddu and Bulemezi in the finals.

The final will be played this Saturday at FUFA Technical Centre ,Njeru.

Masaza Cup Cast of All Winners:

  • 2019 –Bulemeezi
  • 2018– Singo
  • 2017– Gomba
  • 2016– Buddu
  • 2015 – Singo
  • 2014 – Gomba
  • 2013– Mawokota
  • 2012 – Bulemeezi
  • 2011 – Buluri
  • 2010 – Not Held
  • 2009 – Gomba
  • 2008 – Kyadondo
  • 2007 – Mawokota
  • 2006 – Kooki
  • 2005 – Mawokota
  • 2004 – Gomba
Frank Fremer is a seasoned journalist, blogger and political analyst for over a decade in Uganda

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Articles