Bulemezi strike late to force a draw against Butambala

His Majesty Kabaka  Ronal  Muwenda Mutebi II has  today officially launched the 2020 Masaza Cup where the reigning  2019 Champions,Bulemeezi started this edition’s Campaign to  degend their title  against Butambala.

His Majesty Kabaka Ronald Muwenda Mutebi II Launching the 2020 Masaza Cup at FUFA Techinical Centre In Njeru(Buikwe)
His Majesty Kabaka Ronald Muwenda Mutebi II Launching the 2020 Masaza Cup at FUFA Techinical Centre In Njeru(Buikwe).

Although Masaza Cup is known for attracting many fans, this year’s edition won’t  see spectators in the stands to cheer the Counties as a way of cubing the spread of Covid19. Buganda’s Sports, Youth and Recreation Minister, Henry Ssekabembe believes this year’s tournament will be peaceful and the first of its kind. “We are very determined to see that this year we have a tournament full of peace and historical in this kingdom to play in the lockdown situation,” Sekabembe said.

For the first time Masaza Cup is going to be played behind closed doors, with all games hosted on one neutral ground

 Bulemeezi and Butambala played out to a 1-1 draw in the 2020 Masaza Cup opening game of Butikkiro group that was played at FUFA Technical centre in Njeru.

Bulemeezi’s second half substitute Thomas Kakaire cancelled out Sharif Nsereko first half strike to salvage a point for the champions.

Sharif  Nsereko fired Butambala into the lead with a brilliant finish in the 23rd minute.

Read Also:Emmanuel Okwi Tests Positive For Covid19

Akram Muzanyi nearly levelled matters for Bulemeezi in the 32nd minute but his effort only kissed the woodwork.
Butambala were the dominant side in the first period of the contest.

After the recess, Bulemeezi came back with an improved performance and started to press for the equaliser.

With only 15 minutes to the end of the game,  Thomas Kakaire ‘s goal has balanced the scoreboard for Bulemeezi And Butambala in the 2020 Masaza Cup Opener.

Kakaire’s tap-in has helped the defending Champion (Bulemezi) to force a draw against Butambala

          Line ups used:

Bulemeezi XI: Ibra Banalya(Gk), Rogers Ssebyondya, Douglas Kizza, Sulaiman Ssesazi, Rashid Ssemwogerere, Dirisa Masembe, Ronald Kakooza, Gabriel Eragu, Simon Katumba, Akram Muzanyi, Masuudi Kafuumbe

Francis Kasumba, Tomas Kakaire, Benardo Kateregga

 Butambala XI: Fahad Emuran(GK), Athanas Mutaawe, Julius Bukenya, Brian Mayo, Abdul Kalanzi, Musa Jagwe, Moses Mutebi, Lwandasa Sabule, Patrick Nsamba, Sharif Nsereko, Livingstone Mbigo

Maurice Muwonge, Faluk Ssemukuutu, Farouk Luwagga, Ismail Maganda.

Tomorrow’s  Fixture:

Action will resume on Sunday with another Butikkiro group contest between two time winners Ssingo  and  Buluuri.

Frank Fremer is a seasoned journalist, blogger and political analyst for over a decade in Uganda

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles