Bulemeezi WallopS Ssingo At 2020 Masaza Cup

Bulemeezi  has slashed Ssingo in their second Butikiro group of the Masaza Cup game played at FUFA Technical centre in Njeru  inorder to defend the title they won in the last edition of 2019.

The defending champion’s has scored through  Eragu Gabriel, Hakiramu Muzanyi, Suleiman Ssesazi and Kateregga Benaldo. Eragu received from Simon Katumba to slot home from close range inside the fourth minute before Muzanyi doubled the lead from a Douglas Kizza corner.

Sessazi put the game to bed, scoring a penalty when he sent the keeper the wrong way after Muzanyi was brought down in the area.

Substitute Kateregga put the icing on the cake with a composed finish inside the area in the added minutes.

Read Also:Buluuli Makes A Goalless Draw Against Mawogola

It could have been worse but Ismail Kayondo had a goal ruled out for offside while Muzanyi with a keeper to beat, weakly shot at Fred Ntege.

Ssingo looked the second best from the start but had some moments in front of goal which were wasted by Dathan Mubiru who challenged the keeper but failed to force a shot into the back of the net.

Eddie Bulwanyi cut inside to leave his marker on the floor but he also had his shot blocked.

Bulemeezi who missed a suspended head coach Simon Mugerwa, moves to four points after that opening 1-1 draw with Butambala.

Ssingo, who won this championship in 2018 and 2015, remain on one point from a Buluuli draw and also lost to Mawogola 3-0.

This means that Ssingo is likely to be the first  team to be ejected at the 2020 Masaza cup due to their poor results.

 2020  Masaza Cup Fixture:


The Fixture Continues:

Teams Used:


Ssingo XI – Fred Ntege(GK), Frank Bukenya, Joseph Ssewaali, Ivan Kakumba, Eria Bukenya, Godfrey Kakooza, Rogers Masembe, Eddie Bulwanyi, Dathan Mubiru, Daniel Kazibwe, Amuli Mukasa .

Substitutes – Joseph Sempijja, Moses Jjagwe, Shafic Lugoloobi, Davis Talah Isooba

Head Coach: Michael Kabali


Bulemeezi XI– Ibrahim Banalya(GK), Douglas Kizza Lule, Rodgers Ssebyondya, Sulaiman Ssesazi, Rashid Ssemwogerere, Dirisa Masembe , Eragu Gabriel, Simon Katumba, Hakiramu Muzanyi, Ismail Kayondo, Thomas Kakaire

Head Coach: Yusuf Kinene

Substitutes – Francis Kasumba, Masuudi Kafumbe, Ronald Kakooza, Henry Musisi Muyomba, Benaldo Kateregga,

 Next game on card for each team

Bulemeezi face Buluuli on  Saturday,December 19 before ending their group with Mawogola on Monday,December 21.

Ssingo’s last game will be against Butambala on  Monday ,December 21.

Bulemezi  took home the 2019 Masaza Cup on Saturday 26th October following a 1-0 victory over Busiro in the games’ extra time at the Mandela National Stadium amid non-stop cheering from the spectators. Since the inception of the Masaza Cup in 2004, this was Ssaza’s second win since 2012 when they claimed victory.

Frank Fremer is a seasoned journalist, blogger and political analyst for over a decade in Uganda

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles