Confirmed:The 2020/21 Uganda Premier League Kicks Off Today On Thursday 3rd December

The uganda Premier League season of 2020/21 kicks off today, on Thursday 3rd December 2020 With one game.

Seven games will be played this weekend because Vipers SC meeting against MYDA Football Club at St Mary’s Stadium Kitende has been  postponed due to their involvement in the CAF Champions League engagements.

The officials who will oversee match day one have been confirmed.

FIFA referee Ronald Madanda will officiate the season  opener where Solitilo Bright Stars welcomes  KCCA FC at Kavumba Recreation grounds.

Madanda will be assisted by Okello Lee and Hakim Mulindwa as the first and second assistants referees respectively.

Engineer William Oloya will be the fourth official and Ali Tomusange will assess the referees.

Five KCCA FC players  will miss the league opener against  Solitilo Bright Stars.These include:

Midfielder  Gift Ali  who was by far KCCA FC’s best player last season will miss the encounter due to an injury, club manager Mike Mutebi has confirmed.

Vice captain Julius Poloto, striker Sadat Anaku, Defender John Revita and Moses Aliro are the other injured players.

Beside the mentioned, Coach Mike Mutebi says that his other players are in good conditions and ready to get the season underway.

The 13-time league champions lost the likes of Mustafa Kizza, Mike Mutyaba, Muzamir Mutyaba, Erisa Ssekisambu etc.

Stefano Mazengo Loro, Charles Lwanga and Ashraf Mugume are some of the new signings at the club who will be looking forward for the club debut on Thursday.

KCCA FC Squad this Season and their official Squad Numbers:

Mwirusi Ali Ramadhan (1), Kato Samuel Nemeyimana (2),  Musana Hassan (3), Musa Ramathan (4), Revita John (5), Mazengo Loro Stefano (6), Gift Ali Abubakar (7),  Ayella Dominic (8), Aheebwa Brian (9), Balinya Juma (10),  Kigozi Samson Andrew (11),  Kawooya Andrew (12),  Magambo Peter (13),  Anaku Sadat Happy (14), Mugume Ashraf (15), Achai Herbert (16), Keziron Kizito (17), Lwanga Charles (18), Sserwadda Steven (19), Anukani Bright (20), Ssenyonjo Samuel (21), Poloto Julius (22), Bukenya Joseph Kizza (23), Lukwago Charles (24), Iguma Denis (25),  Aliro Moses Okabo (26),  Kalanzi Moses (27),   Fillbert Obenchan  (28), Matovu Hassan Muyomba (29), Kafumbe Joseph (30).

Solitilo Bright Stars is Coached By Baker Mbowa who replace Paul kiwanuka who joined Vipers SC to duputise long time friend Fred kajoba at the kitende.


The Fixture and match day one officials is as follows:


Thursday 3rd-December

Soltilo Bright Stars FC   vs   KCCA FC – Kavumba Recreation grounds(4pm)

Centre Referee: Ronald  Madanda

First Assistant: Lee Okello

Second Assistant: Hakim  Mulindwa

Fourth Official: William  Oloya

Referees Assessor: Ali  Tomusange


Friday 4th-December

Police FC vs Wakiso Giants FC – MTN Phillip Omondi Stadium

Centre Referee: Asadu  Semere

First Assistant: Mustafa  Mafumu

Second Assistant: Dorcus  Atuhaire

Fourth Official: Anna  Akoyi

Referees Assessor: Dennis  Batte


BUL FC    vs  SC Villa – Kyabazinga Stadium ( Bugembe)

Centre Referee: Deogratious   Opio

First Assistant: Dick  Okello

Second Assistant: Lydia  Nantabo

Fourth Official: Siraj  Mpyangu

Referees Assessor: Catherine  Adipo


Mbarara City FC  vs  URA FC – Kakyeka Stadium(Mbarara)

Centre Referee: Nasser  Muhammed

First Assistant: Jane  Mutonyi

Second Assistant: Steven  Kimayo

Fourth Official: Lucky  Kasalirwe

Referees Assessor: Mark  Ssonko


Saturday, 5th December

Onduparaka FC  Vs  Express FC –Greenlight Stadium ( Arua)

Centre Referee: Rajab  Bakasambe

First Assistant: Sharif    Lulenzi

Second Assistant: Tonny  Agir

Fourth Official: Paul  Omara

Referees Assessor: Amin  Bbosa  Nkono


Kyetume FC  vs  Kitara FC – FUFA Technical Centre ( Njeru,)

Centre Referee: Ali   Kaddu

First Assistant: Richard   Mugerwa

Second Assistant: Gilbert   Ngyendo

Fourth Official: John  Bosco  Kalibbala

Referees Assessor: Ali  Kalyango


UPDF FC  vs  Busoga United –Bombo Barracks grounds

Centre Referee: Shamira  Nabadda

First Assistant: Issa  Masembe

Second Assistant: Samuel  Mbabali

Fourth Official: Habiba  Naigaga

Referees Assessor: Ndawula  MS

Last season Maroons FC, Proline FC and Tooro United FC were relegated to the FUFA Big League and were replaced by MYDA FC, UPDF FC and Kitara FC which were promoted to the 2020/21 Uganda Premier league.

Frank Fremer is a seasoned journalist, blogger and political analyst for over a decade in Uganda

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles