Mawokota Ends Kyadondo’s Hopes To Grant Bugerere Quarter-Final Slot At Masaza Cup

Mawokota maintained their 100 Percent  group stage performance, after registering their third consecutive victory in the Masengere group, which also confirmed Bugerere’s progress to the quarter-finals.

The three-time Airtel Masaza Cup winners defeated Kyadondo 2-0 at the FUFA Technical Center, Njeru on Monday afternoon, courtesy of Mike Kintu’s double from the penalty spot.

Following a goalless first half, the game came to life seven minutes after the hour mark. Mike Kintu placed Mawokota in the driving sit from the penalty spot.

Mawokota’s striker Geoffrey Oyaka was fouled in the dangerous area by Kyadondo defender Jimmy Kiwanuka.

Read Also:Kooki Eliminated From Masaza Cup After A Draw With Bugerere

Five minutes later, Kyadondo who went into the game needing three points to progress sunk even further when Mawokota’s Isaac Ofoyirwoth was fouled in the box and Kintu stepped up to score the second from the spot.

Mawokota topped the Masengere group with nine points from three games while Bugerere who had earlier played to a 1-1 draw with Kooki came second on the log with four points.

The other ssaza sides set for the knock out stage are defending champions Bulemeezi and Mawogola from Butikiro group as well as Busiro and Busujju from Bulange group.

How two teams lined up:

Mawokota XIShamran Kamya(GK), Douglaus Orye, Faizo Matovu, Mike Kintu, Arnold Odong, Musa Kasimba, Nicholas Jjonga, Oryem Tabu, Isaac Ofoyrwth, Fazil Tumwine, Geofrey Oyaka

Subs: Anthony Emojong, Denis Kasirye, Elvis Ssekaju, Livingstone Jurua, Abasi Muliya

Kyadondo XI: Aristoti Muyindo(GK), James Mubezi, Herbert Abima, Jimmy Kiwanuka, Yuda Dumba, Borris Onegi, Ali Mukibi, Shion Kayiza, Eric Wadribo, Kalvin Emayi, Andrew Otim

Subs: Hamza Lutaaya, Tonny Kyagaba, Henry Wamala, Innocent Atiku

The Muganzirwaza Group will subsequently start on 13th January at the same venue – FUFA Technical Center in Njeru.

Buddu, Kabula, Ssese and Gomba are the four teams that make up the Muganzirwaza group.

The Masaza Cup past winners

2019: Bulemeezi
2018: Ssingo
2017: Gomba
2016: Buddu
2015: Ssingo
2014: Gomba
2013: Mawokota
2012: Bulemeezi
2011: Buluri
2010: Not Held
2009: Gomba
2008: Kyadondo
2007: Mawokota
2006: Kooki
2005: Mawokota
2004: Gomba

Frank Fremer is a seasoned journalist, blogger and political analyst for over a decade in Uganda

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Articles