Sadik Nasiwu Wins Uganda’s Volleyball Presidency

A total of 284 delegates from across the country convened at the Lugogo open space during a successful process overseen by the National Council of Sports (NCS) Chairman Donald Rukare and the NCS Assistant General Secretary Dick Katende.

The Uganda Volleyball Federation (UVF) family undertook a successful electoral assembly held at the Lugogo Hockey ground in Kampala on Sunday, 31 January 2021.

Sadik Nasiwu beat incumbent Hadijja Namanda to return as the new Uganda Volleyball Federation President.

Namanda has been at the helm since January 2017  when she succeeded Nasiwu who had held the seat for eight years.

Nasiwu tallied 227 votes, coming top ahead of incumbent Hadijah Namanda (20 votes) and Eddie Okila (27 votes).

This will be Nasiwu’s third term in office having served two terms between 2009 and 2017.

Abdallah Kiggundu was voted the first Vice President when he beat Anthony Ashaba and Stephen Waiswa.

Salma Kairungi (129 votes) managed to overcome close rival Hellenic Nakimuli (115) to second vice while Faridah Nalinya picked just 38 to finish third.

Joseph Odong is the treasurer after tallying 104 votes ahead of Adam Mugisha (90 votes) and Philbert Mutabazi (86 votes).

Read Also:Former Wakiso Giants Striker Joins Somalia’s Club

For the premier club representatives, Levian Ashaba scored 18 votes, Cisse Musiime (13 votes), Kenneth Wakibi (14 votes) and Kenneth Masaaba’s 11 votes.

David Semakula Katende, who witnessed the polls on behalf of the National Council of Sports, urged the losers of the polls to accept defeat and focus on building the sport.

The newly-elected executive will preside over the Junior Women’s African Nation’s Volleyball Championship set for February 18th – 26th, 2021 in Uganda.

The New Volleyball Committee in the Picture

The New Uganda Volleyball Federation Committee:

           President: Sadik Nasiwu

          1st Vice President: Abdallah Kiggundu

          2nd Vice President: Salma Kairungi Otika

           General Secretary: Godwin Nakaana Ssenyondo

           Assistant General Secretary: Eunice Nuwabigaba

         Treasurer: Joseph Odong

Premier Club Representatives:

Levian Ashaba

Cisse Musiime

Kenneth Wakibi

District Representatives

      North and East: Innocent Komakech

       West and South: Elisha Kamuhimbise

        Central: Joshua Osiya



Frank Fremer is a seasoned journalist, blogger and political analyst for over a decade in Uganda

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Articles