Fortebet banner

UEFA Champions League round of 16 draw

The teams for the last 16 of the Champions League have been confirmed.

The draw  will take place at UEFA headquarters in Nyon, Switzerland, on Monday 14 December 2020.

The English teams who did successfully progress to the knockout stages of the competition, them being Liverpool, Manchester City and Chelsea, will be eagerly awaiting the draw for the next leg of their European campaigns.

All three teams qualified as group winners, meaning that they will avoid any of their group-winning counterparts, and as a result, each other. Though, there is still plenty of quality in pot 2 – with Barcelona being one of those teams.

The draw features the eight group winners (seeded) and eight runners-up (unseeded).

Read Also:Arsenal Wants To Sack Mikel Arteta

Seeded Teams;
Bayern (Germany, from  Group A)
Real Madrid (Spain, from Group B)
Manchester City (England, from Group C)
Liverpool (England, from Group D)
Chelsea (England, from Group E)
Borussia Dortmund (Germany, from Group F)
Juventus (Italy, From Group G)
Paris (France, From Group H)

Unseeded Teams;
Atlético  Madrid(Spain, was the second  in Group A)
Borussia  Mönchengladbach (Germany, was the  second in Group B)
Porto (Portugal, was the second in Group  C)
Atalanta (Italy, was second in group D)
Sevilla  (Spain,  was the  second in Group E)
Lazio (Italy, was the second in Group F)
Barcelona (Spain, was the second in Group G)
Leipzig (Germany ,was the second in Group H)

At this stage, England is represented by 3 teams(chelsea,Liverpool,Manchester City) and they are all seeded in pot 1.

France has one team (PSG) seeded in pot 1.

Portugal also has one team (FC Porto) at the round of 16 but it is unseeded in pot 2.

Spain is represented by 4 teams,one (Real Madrid) is seeded in pot 1 and three clubs(Atletico Madrid, Barcelona and Sevilla) are unseeded in pot 2.

Germany is represented by 4 teams, two (Bayern and Borussia Dortmund) are seeded in pot 1 while the other two Clubs (Borussia  Mönchengladbach and Leipzig) are unseeded in pot 2.

Italy is represented by 3 teams,one (Juventus) seeded in pot 1 and two clubs (Atalanta And Lazio) are unseeded in pot 2.

  • Two seeding pots are formed: one consisting of the eight group winners and the other of the eight runners-up. No team can play a club from their own association, with the exact draw procedure to be confirmed before the ceremony.
  • Seeded group winners are away in the round of 16 first legs and at home in the return matches.

First legs: 16/17/23/24 February
Second legs: 9/10/16/17 March

Frank Fremer is a seasoned journalist, blogger and political analyst for over a decade in Uganda

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Articles