Uganda Defends CECAFA U17 Trophy

Tuesday, December 22

Final: Uganda 3-1 Tanzania
3rd Playoff: Djibouti 2-5 Ethiopia

Uganda Cubs has retained the CECAFA U17 Championship  after beating Tanzania 3-1 at Umuganda Stadium in Rubavu, Rwanda.

Uganda won the CECAFA U17  Championship in 2018.Therefore this means that Uganda is the king of soccer in the region due to it’s dominance in football at all levels in both male and female teams.

Three second half goals by Ivan Irinimbabazi, Travis Mutyaba and Juma Ibrahim were enough for Uganda to retain the trophy they won two years back.Tanzania got a consolation goal through an own goal by Vicent Mulema.

The first half ended with even scores and it was in the second half that the deadlock was broken when Ivan Irinimbabazi rose high to head home off  Vicent Mulema’s freekick In the 62nd minute to put Uganda in the driving seat.

In the 80th minute, Mutyaba doubled Uganda’s lead with a second goal as the Hamza Lutalo coached side consolidated their lead.

However, eight minutes later, Tanzania got a consolation goal through an own goal following an own goal by Ugandan defender Vincent Mulema.

In the 90th minute, Ibrahim Juma sealed Uganda’s victory with a third goal from a spot kick after Omar Hassan Yahya brought down Mutyaba inside the penalty area.

Uganda and Tanzania will represent East Africa in the 2021 AFCON U17 in Morocco.

Read also:Why Mckinstry Named Young Stars In CHAN Squad

Uganda Cubs coach Hamza Lutalo has made one change in the starting lineup that faced Tanzania in the CECAFA U17 final.

KCCA FC Junior team player Elvis Mwanje paved way for Enoc Luyima who plays for Volf Soccer Academy, is the one change from the team that beat Djibouti in the semi.

Players Used:

Uganda XI: Henry Mwebe(GK), Vincent Mulema, Juma Ibrahim©,  Ronald Madoi, Peter Gava, Ivan Irinimbazi, Samuel Madiba, Travis Mutyaba, Oscar Mawa, Issa Bugembe, Enock Luyima.

Substitutes – Abdu Magada, Humphrey Oyirwoth, Shafic Magogo, Basil Tuma, Fahad Jumbe, Hassan Mubiru, Elvis Mwanje, Shugai Kaliisa.

Tanzania XI: James Mabada(GK), Abubaker Ramadhani Lubotile, Omari Hassan Yahya, Abdulkarim Kassim Kassim Kiswanya, Abubaker Abudallah Sabian, Omar Abbas Mvungi, Ladaki Juma Chasambi, Omari Sultan Omari Bakari, Sylvester Sylvester Otto, Hijjah Shamte Lidah, Mbarak Mohammed Saad Hussein.

Substitutes – Edward Edward, Nuhhu Lugalamila, Chande Mkala, Abdulrazak Dominick, Shomary Mkwama, Rahim Chapaulinge, Kassimu Yahaya, Abdallah Hamisi Hassani, Said Said.

Goalkeeper Henry Mwebe has conceded one goal in the  whole Tournament  having kept out Kenya and Ethiopia in groups before shutting out Djibouti as well.

Ethiopia edged Djibouti Playoff 5-2 Ethiopia in the  Playoff match to finish third at the tournament.

Individual Awards Of the Tournament:

Most Valuable Player (MVP):Travis Mutyaba(Uganda)

Top Scorer:Oscar Mawa (Uganda)  -6goals

Best Goalkeeper:Henry Mwebe(Uganda)

Frank Fremer is a seasoned journalist, blogger and political analyst for over a decade in Uganda

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles